White Bean and Red Lentil Burgers


whitebeanBy Jeanne Kysela

Now, I know what you’re thinking. Burgers during Lent – NO WAY! But trust me, you’ll want to cook these delicious burgers anytime of year after you taste them. I have to warn you, they are spicy.

I have a confession… I love meat. And every year I dread Lent. That is why every year that is one of my crosses to bear. That goes for chocolate as well. Because when I deny something I really like and want, I appreciate it much more when I do allow myself to indulge.

With that said, I promised myself this year that I would find new and delicious meatless meals I would be satisfied with during the Lenten season. Thanks to my husband, he blessed me with a vegan cook book for Christmas. I was skeptical at first, but after making my first recipe from it, I have not looked back.

So here it is – the tasty and filling….

White Bean and Red Lentil Burgers
(makes 8 larger burger patties)

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1/3 cup red Lentils
  • 2/3 cup water
  • 3 cups cooked white beans
  • 1/2 red onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 jalapeno, minced
  • 1/2 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons smoked paprika
  • 1-1/2 teaspoons of your favorite no-salt, all purpose seasoning blend
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  •  1/2 teaspoon of salt
  • Grated zest of 1/2 lime
  • Cooking spray

DIRECTIONS

  1. Combine lentils and water in a medium saucepan and bring to a boil. Reduce the heat and let simmer until the lentils are soft and mushy, and the water is almost gone, about 10 minutes. Drain and let cool. (You may use canned lentils that are already cooked, just make sure they are soft)
  2. Mash the white cooked beans in a large bowl and then add the lentils and the rest of the ingredients, with the exception of the cooking spray. If you find that the mixture is still too wet to hold its shape, then add breadcrumbs slowly until firm. Shape into burger patties and chill for at least 30 minutes or up to 4 hours. (Again, you can use canned cooked white beans instead of fresh)
  3. Pre-heat your oven to 400º F. Coat chilled patties lightly with some cooking spray and bake them for about 30 minutes, flipping half-way. You may cook longer if you like a toastier burger. Then , dig in for the best meatless meal ever!

 

Leave a Reply

